This episode features several musical responses to the extermination of six million European Jews in the Second World War, including a “new haggada” based on the Warsaw ghetto uprising, many poem settings, and an elegy for Anne Frank.

Audio for this program is currently unavailable.
05:00 Max Helfman: Di naye hagode (excerpts)
16:25 Lazar Weiner: Yidn zignen “ani mamin”
22:00 Gershon Kingsley: Voices from the Shadow (excerpts)
31:15 Robert Beaser: The Heavenly Feast
Audio for this program is currently unavailable.
03:30 Robert Stern: Voices from Terezin
15:30  Bruce Adolphe: “Ani Ma’amin” from Out of the Whirlwind
22:30 Lukas Foss: Elegy for Anne Frank
32:30 David Stock: A Little Miracle

*Times are approximate

About the Series: Produced in conjunction with the WFMT network and broadcast on radio stations throughout the U.S., American Jewish Music from the Milken Archive with Leonard Nimoy is a 13-part series of two-hour programs featuring highlights from the Milken Archive’s extensive collection of the musical recordings. Episodes include interviews and commentary with Lowell Milken, Neil W. Levin, and Gerard Schwarz. Radio stations interested in broadcasting the series should contact


Get the latest updates from the Milken Archive, including articles and giveaways.

Date: December 31, 1969

Credit: Milken Family Foundation


Don't miss our latest releases, podcasts, announcements and giveaways throughout the year! Stay up to date with our newsletter.

{{msToTime(currentPosition)}} / {{msToTime(duration)}}